2014 Roger Millikan Memorial Criterium

The annual trip to Brea for the criterium named in remembrance of Roger Millikan, this year also paid homage to the memory of Phil Richards, who lost his life in January as the result of a December hit and run collision. Richards was remembered at the beginning of the Masters 60+ race, his fellow competitors; that group, as well as the Women Cat 3/4 race which started at the same time, then followed venerable John Howard on a slow circuit of the course, a memorial lap of honor.

A few photos here. I have more to write, but for now will post up the usual Flickr link - 123 photos this time.

Neck and neck to the line for this pair of Juniors.

Michael Flemming (Masters 60+) lets everyone know how it is going to do down.

John Howard led a lap in memory of Phil Richards before the Masters 60+ race

Michael Burditt leads through the turn

Dakota Gracey (Pacific Premier Bank Cycling Team)  in the Cat 4 race

Julie Cutts before winning the Womens 1-3 race

Suzanne Sonye (Monster Media Elite Women) leads the winning break in the Womens 1-3 race. Also with her are Alison Jones (Sisterhood of Cycling), Joanie Celso (Holliday Rock p/b Zoca), and winner, Julie Cutts (Velo Club La Grange).

Jeffrey Moreton soloed the last couple laps to finish ahead of the charging Masters 55+ field.

I am not sure even Mark Cavendish gets as low in the sprint as Michael Burditt.

A trio of SoCal Cycling dot com riders cluster around turn four early in the Pro/1/2 race.

This is not a complete list of the days podiums, only for the races I saw. As usual you can check SoCalCycling.com for a complete listing:

Masters 55+: 1st Jeffrey Moreton (Team Rokform), 2nd Mark Hoffenberg (Team Rokform), 3rd Michael Birdett (SKLZ-Swami's Cycling Team)

Women 1-3: 1st Julie Cutts (VC La Grange), 2nd Joanie Celso (Holliday Rock p/b Zoca), 3rd Alison Jones (Sisterhood of Cycling)

Masters 60+: 1st Mike Marotta (SKLZ-Swami's Cycling Team), 2nd Michael Birditt (SKLZ-Swami's Cycling Team), 3rd Ricky Shorts (Team Velocity)

Women 3/4: 1st Kim Nida (Sisterhood of Cycling), 2nd Denise Mueller (Sisterhood of Cycling), 3rd Riley Nguyen (SC Velo)

Cat 4: 1st Ivan Delgado (South Bay Wheelmen), 2nd Jarred Jordan, 3rd Robert Freeman (Team Rokform)

Junior Men 17-18: 1st Matthew Chuml (Monster Media Junior Development Team), 2nd Chazmichael Morales (Team Rokform), 3rd Seth Veenbaas (Monster Media Junior Development Team)

Junior Men 13-14: 1st Weston Giem (Major Motion Cycling Club), 2nd Kyle Kirby (SDBC/Emerald Textiles), 3rd Ian Schwartz (Team Rokform)

Junior Women 15-18: 1st Hannah Swan (Strive Racing), 2nd Rachel Cross (Incycle Racing p/b Full Circle), 3rd Courtney Comer (Major Motion Development)


  1. What about the Cat 3 race?.

    1. Yah, where are the 3s? I knew there might be some fallout if I didn't stick around but the wife, who does not normally go to the races, was ready to head home part way through the Pro race. So, no 3s this year.


Post a Comment